On Thursday, April 14, 2011, The Children’s Assessment Center hosted the 8th Annual Cherish the Child Awards Reception in appreciation of those who have made major contributions to the hope and healing of sexually abused children in Harris County. The 2011 Humanitarian Awards were presented to The Honorable Ed Emmett and Gwen Emmett, IKEA Trading Services, Inc. and Debbie C. Martinez, CAC Foundation Board President. Each of these recipients has demonstrated a commitment to The CAC and the children we serve through their generous contributions and advocacy.

The Children’s Assessment Center’s Humanitarian Awards Program was chartered in 2004 in honor of Susan Penn French and Carroll Robertson Ray. Their tireless efforts helped raised millions of dollars to bring forth the dream of a facility devoted to families while cherishing all children unconditionally. We honor their legacy and commitment through the presentation of the “Cherish the Child” Humanitarian Awards.

The Harris County District Attorney’s Office Crimes Against Children Division was also recognized for their support of The CAC and their continuous fight to provide justice and healing for the abused children of Harris County. Program remarks were provided by The Honorable Joan Campbell, Mayor Annise Parker, Harris County Attorney, Vince Ryan, CAC Foundation Board Members, Gail Prather and Catherine Flowers, Dr. Lawrence Thompson, Director of Therapy & Psychological Services and Lisa Bourgoyne, Supervisor of Forensic Services. CAC Executive Director, Elaine Stolte, commented that, “The support The CAC receives from Harris County and from the private sector makes our public/private partnership truly unique. This collaboration continues to provide the best services for abused children as well as demonstrating best practices. We are proud of our program and so grateful to our many donors who continue to make our work possible.”

Guests enjoyed delicious hors d’oeuvres donated by Benjy’s and the musical talents of Virtuosi of Houston. Guests in attendance included: Judge Russ Ridgway, Denise Oncken, Bill and Joann Crassas, Dan and Kim Moody, Pily Simón, Judge Denise Pratt, Judge Charley Prine Jr. and Major Michael Wong.